Get Involved

Honour Boards

The AMSS has erected Honour Boards in the Eleanor Harrald Building Student Common Room to commemorate notable members of the Society. However, in this age of the 'interweb', we also thought it fitting to acknowledge contributors to the Society 'on-line'. Please find below our past Presidents and recipients of various prizes and awards. We note that there are gaps with respect to the Patron's Plate, so if you know who the recipients were in the relevant years, please contact the President.

We note that, previously, the President of the AMSS was an esteemed doctor who performed more of a 'Patron' type role. This practice ceased in the mid-seventies the esteemed 'Patron' type Office Bearer became the Chairman / Chairwoman. Today we have a Patron, which is currently Emeritus Professor Derek Frewin AO. We have, from the time of the change in the mid-seventies, documented the name of the student President rather than the esteemed medical practitioner.

We note that before 1998, any medical student was eligible to be awarded the Patron’s Plate each year. From 1998 onward, only final year medical students have been eligible to receive the Patron’s Plate. The criteria have otherwise remained unchanged since the inception of the award.

Traditio | Spiritus | Gaudium