Scholarships & Prizes


Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Patron's Plate

The Adelaide Medical Students’ Society (AMSS or the Society) Patron’s Plate is the most prestigious annual award offered by the Society, initiated by Adam Lockett in 1986.

The relevant regulations require that the Patron’s Plate is awarded to the ‘final year medical student who is deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to medical student life during the six years of the Medical Course.’ The coveted prize therefore acknowledges over half a decade of contribution by the recipient to medical student life, which expands to involve contributions made from the local to the national level. Within the exuberant culture and energy of medical student life at the University of Adelaide, such an award is an extremely high honour indeed!

The recipient of the Patron’s Plate shall receive the perpetual Patron’s Plate for one year and a medallion that they retain forever. The vote for the Patron's Plate is a simple majority vote of the AMSS Committee.


All medical students at the University of Adelaide are invited to nominate final year students that they feel are fit for consideration for the Patron’s Plate. 

Nominees will be informed of their nomination by email from the President and will be requested to submit a one-page curriculum vitae (CV) depicting their ‘contribution to medical school life.'

The CVs of all nominees will be provided to all members of the Committee for consideration prior to a normal AMSS Committee Meeting, at which discussion and voting will take place.

Finally, all nominees will be acknowledged and thanked at the annual MedBall. The recipient of the Patron’s Plate will then be announced.

Submissions for 2017 are now open!

Past Recipients

2014:  Dr Sam LaBroome

2015:  Dr Joshua Calleja

2016: Dr Caitlyn Sun